July

auto_slice

Good afternoon from our spot in these mountains, where it’s full summer–it’s dry, and although the creek is still running, it is a bit low. Our apple tree, durable green soul, is laden with fruit; perhaps this will be the year I make apple cider. The roses are blooming profusely, and the sage and the lupine are also flourishing.

Above is a detail of a much larger graphite drawing that will appear in an upcoming publication…it’s a bit gruesome–more so than a lot of my work–but the tale for which this drawing was created is raw, in-your-face, and bloody. Believe me, it could have been a much more graphic illustration (I did consider it). The full image is in a different format than most commissions I am given, as well, so it was an unusual job and great fun to do. I’ll post more about this when I can.

The past few months have been great in most ways. My companion and I have been enjoying visits with family and friends whenever we can; we have been hiking longer distances again, after a break. It’s the season for summer fruits and veggies, so we have been relishing those. I’m determined to get back into doing yoga. Last year I enrolled in an excellent class as a beginner, and–for several reasons–haven’t gotten back to those sessions. I miss it, so must learn to keep up the discipline on my own. I’ve been wanting to get things in general settled: sorting and organizing materials in my studio so all the projects in progress–all in different media, both personal and commissioned–can be done in an orderly way, and culling stuff from the house that I no longer want or need. I’ve been going through my own head, with a similar approach…it’s all house-cleaning of a sort. Some articles suggest that a messy work space indicates particularly high intelligence–so I’m reluctant to admit that I prefer things to be aligned, dust-free, sorted like-with-like, allowing lots of empty table and desk space, so things have room to happen…but there it is.

There are several private commissions in progress right now, and one wonderful book project has just been set in motion, which will be announced/published in the first quarter of 2017. I hope by this Fall that a project which has been in the works for quite a while will finally be announced…it’s exciting news for our studio, and I look forward to sharing that with you. I’m also working on oil paintings; there are currently eight of them in progress, in various stages of completion and with decidedly various levels of success. I am falling in love with the process and the medium, and hope to spiff up my portfolio and get some nice jobs in the coming years…maybe find some gallery representation and/or an agent along the way.

Here is one oil sketch I’ve been working on as part of my study:

rusty_water_tank_IP

Rusty water tank – Mt. Diablo Hike

I’d best get back to the work at hand, but one last bit of news: a cat has shown up at our place–so friendly, it seems that he’s been abandoned. We’ve looked at bulletin boards, missing pet posters, etc. and we’ve found no one so far who is claiming or looking for him. He’s getting taken care of now, and it seems he will stay with us–my husband’s rather fond of him, too. Kitty has had most of his shots, and will have the last of his vaccinations when he’s neutered later this month. He loves to hang out with me in the studio, and follows us when we’re out in the yard…he has a huge purr, and is talkative; he is happy to sleep (usually upside-down) on the rug here while I work. He joins a neighborhood cat, Purrsephone, a beautiful, feisty tortoiseshell kitty who spends a lot of her time here at our place, and with a kind neighbor lady who also feeds, shelters, and grooms her. This is Mr. Purrsival, Morale Officer and Spider-Catcher for Rowan Studio, shown on the job:

purrsival_july12

Until next time, please be careful out there; be kind to yourselves, and each other; and don’t forget to slow down and enjoy things…savor life.

About erinwellsart

Illustrator/Fine Artist View all posts by erinwellsart

2 responses to “July

Leave a Reply

