“Buh-Bye, 2013! Please do let the door smack you in the butt on the way out.”

At long last I’m getting back to this blog. Overall, I’m very excited to kick 2013 out the back door of my life (I do so with heavy boots on: THUD!) It’s time to get on with a new year and start new projects, and finish those that were waylaid by last year’s events. 2013 found my husband battling Stage IIIC colon cancer (so far successfully, but we must be vigilant) and the loss of my father-in-law; there were a couple relatively minor health issues of my own to deal with, and a few book projects going on simultaneously. I must say, it was a challenging, enlightening, and –sometimes– a too-fast-and-too-much, stressful time in our lives. However, I can’t be anything but happy at the moment: this morning I got to cook breakfast for my excellent and inspiring husband; he’s feeling well, we’re here, and working, and we still have our place here in the mountains. We are so thankful.

Image

“Dan’s Nightmare: Canny!”

Among the books I illustrated last year is Cemetery Dance Publications’ Limited Edition of Stephen King’s Doctor Sleep. Vincent Chong did the cover art and beautiful color interior images –some of them fold-outs, a feature I enjoy in some of my favorite art books. In some editions, Glenn Chadbourne’s illustrations adorn the endsheets. Above is one of the pencil drawings I created for the book, a view into one of Dan Torrance’s bad dreams. Here are a few more of my drawings from the project:

Image

“Charlie’s Memories”

Image

“Rose Taking Steam”

Image

“Mr. Derwent Appears at the School”

It blows my mind to have gotten the opportunity to participate in this project; Brian and Mindy at Cemetery Dance have been great to work with, and I hope it will be a long-term professional partnership. I’ve learned a lot about the world of book and art collectors, and have attempted to learn quickly, to pick up new terminology and navigate aspects of freelancing that were, until this year, beyond my knowledge and experience.

I love being an artist. It is what I have wanted to do with my life since I was old enough to hold a pencil or brush. This year my husband and I are fixing up a small outbuilding at our home for a studio, so I can start working larger, using oil paint freely, and so we have more space to develop several projects simultaneously. I plan to do my own book someday, and this new space will allow me to explore that work more effectively.

So here’s to a new year. With hope, gratitude, and a stronger determination than I’ve ever had before, I am going to dive in and see where it goes. May it bring us all good health, happiness, prosperity, and love.

 

 

About erinwellsart

Illustrator/Fine Artist View all posts by erinwellsart

One response to ““Buh-Bye, 2013! Please do let the door smack you in the butt on the way out.”

Leave a Reply

